Comparing Portfolios

After looking at several professional portfolios, I realized several differences that separate myself to a professional. The two portfolios I liked the most is Kuon Yagi and Ben Mingo. I chose these two portfolios for their stunning appearance and use of User Interface and User Experience. If you do not know what either of those is, please check out one of my previous blogs by clicking here.

Organization

The two professional portfolios are well organized into projects. Within each project are clean mockups that show their work along with a detailed description of the project. The organization in my portfolio could be better. For example, in my portfolio, there are several elements regarding the Trax app. It would be better to group it all in one post because they’re all from the same project.

Style

Both of the professional portfolios have their own styles which are carried out throughout the website and sometimes used in their projects as well! I do not have a certain style, unfortunately. I am hoping to find my style as I develop my skills as a designer. For now, I am leaning towards a minimalistic type of style with a mix of an illustrator style like Malika Favre. I find her work very interesting and unique.

Website

The User Experience (UX) and User Interface (UI) are very well designed in both portfolios. They are also VERY interactive in terms of hovering,  dragging and clicking causing cool animations to slide in with dramatic easing showing the projects they’ve worked on.

Given that my WordPress account was free, My website does not look as well as the professional ones. It would take money, which is something I do not have, to make a good lookin’ website. However, it is not all about the design of the website itself, instead, it should be about the quality of the work produced by the designer.

Overview

Overall, my is subpar compared to professional ones. However, one advantage I have over them is time.  With more time, I  have the opportunity to create more work than a professional. I hope to create an amazing portfolio with awesome work. Even though I am still unsure of what to focus on specifically (like logos, app designs, web design audio, animation etc.), I have enough time to figure out what I want to specify in.

Photo by Augustine Wong on Unsplash to see his cool pics.

Leave a comment